How can there be puss with antibiotics?!?! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 04-14-2011, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My lower right molar.. underneath it I guess I have an abscess and possible no jaw bone. Anyway.. this is my second round of antibiotics. It's lanced so I squeeze it twice a day to get any puss out. I'm taking Pennicillin. I thought I was getting better. Hardly any puss at all coming out of the hole. Well today my teeth felt tight so I squeezed and heard/felt a "pop" and a ton of puss came out :(  How can I be on so many antibiotics and still have puss coming out?!?!

I started out in severe crying pain. I could eat chew just fine. Dentist didn't  know what was wrong so removed a large mercury filling and said he did a super deep filling (white) that would prep it for a crown. Now that tooth was way too high and two months later and 2 shavings later it's still too high. And still infected. I also feel due to my insurance they are not offering me proper care. (my ins doesn't cover root canals or crowns). I also had a split tooth fixed that was two tooths down that first day.

Will removing the tooth make the puss go away? Should I get a root canal and pay I don't know 1500$? out of pocket (ouch). I guess I don't understand how can there SILL be puss.. and if its in the gum under the tooth how will removing the tooth fix it anyway? I picture a hole in my mouth and still puss trapped forever in there.

I'm out of penicilin tonight so I suspect I'll be in pain again very soon like last time. This has been going on for what feels like 2months.

I do have a consult with an oral surgeon Monday for removing some wisdom teeth and was thinking maybe he would have an opinion. I'm pretty scared.

Is it possible I'm on the wrong antibiotic?

what to do... :(

#2 of 3 Old 04-14-2011, 09:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)