amalgam removal and conception - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 05-04-2008, 10:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Does anyone know how long one should wait to conceive after having amalgam fillings removed? I searched the archives but couldn't find this.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 9 Old 05-09-2008, 04:13 AM

Hello,
our dentist recommended at least 12 month.

Vegmum:Hedding::: treehugger::
#3 of 9 Old 05-22-2008, 01:43 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I want to share my experience in your thread, we PM'd on this but it's such an important topic that I think it's better to have a bit of information available for people searching, albeit subjective, than to have nothing available.

I am not an expert, and this is a really important topic. I can only share my experience and my thoughts on what has been important for me. It really needs a lot of reading and a lot of thought for anyone considering amalgam removal and conception. I think an individual's health status is very important to consider, and also how much helpful guidance they can get. I'm working with someone experienced in chelation, and I did outside reading that makes me feel that yes, my HCP does know what she's talking about.

My background: my health tanked during pregnancy #2 and I eventually figured out that it's been triggered by the mercury in my amalgam fillings, though certainly exacerbated by poor lifestyle choices and pathetic nutrition (pre-amalgam nutrition and nutrition choices since then).

Personally, I _need_ to have my amalgams out before getting pregnant again, because the final symptom that my health was bad was really messed up hormones, including a luteal phase of 6 days (obviously after my son was born and my cycles re-started). Not enough for pregnancy, by a long shot, though I felt bad enough that I knew I wasn't ready for another child. That was in addition to the thyroid and adrenal problems.