Should I be teaching her to clean up toys? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 12-11-2003, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My daughter is 20 months old. We live in a small one bedroom apartment. Our living room *is* the playroom. I don't have a problem with small messes, as I am somewhat of a slob myself. I usually pick up her toys a couple of times a day. I don't usually ask her to help me, I guess because it's just quicker if I do it myself. I have asked her a couple of times to help, and she would put maybe one crayon in a bucket, and then run off to do something else. I am wondering now though if I am doing her a disservice by not trying a little harder to get her involved with cleanup, or if she is still too little to expect to help.

I have no personal experience with this as my mother always did everything herself. This is probably why I am a slob.

I don't want to have a "put it away before you get out something else" rule because I like how much she uses her imagination playing with different toys that don't really go together. But I'm thinking of maybe having a couple of cleanup times as a part of our day? What do y'all do? When did you start involving your kiddos in picking up?
#2 of 12 Old 12-11-2003, 09:22 PM

I have been wondering about this same issue. I try to make a game of picking up the toys with the kids, and ds will usually go for it, but not dd (she used to!). He likes to put all the blocks back in the bucket, for example.

With dd, I am struggling now. She is a great helper when we're at a playgroup or a friends' house, but at home, of course, it's a different story! I know what you mean about doing it yourself-it's quicker (and with a 3 yo less stressful!).

I'm sure this isn't extremely helpful to you! But I wanted to chime in and say I have the same issue. I'll be interested to see other replies.

namaste.gif

#3 of 12 Old 12-11-2003, 10:07 PM