Mothering Forum banner

Toddler pushed my child - what should I have done?

3K views 61 replies 34 participants last post by  APToddlerMama 
#1 ·
I am not very good at confrontation, and I had something happen today that distressed me and my daughter, and I am not sure how I should have handled it

My daughter is 2 1/2, we went to a library storytime for ages 2-3. Afterwards my daughter wanted to go into the play area with the other kids. Most, well all, of the mothers left the kids there, unsupervised while they looked for library books, I was the only one there watching the kids play. Mostly because my daughter is very shy, and has a hard time in situations around strangers, so she likes to see me there or else she gets upset.

Anyway, she sort of asked/told me that she wanted to play with these plastic letters and the mailbox another little girl was playing with, so I told her to go ask the little girl if she could play with her. My daughter asked "can I have those letters" and was smiling. The little girl said "no, I am playing with these" so I told my DD that she wanted to play with them and she would have to wait until the other little girl was done. My daughter just stood there, looked at me, looked at the little girl and smiled. The little girl said again, loudly "these are mine, I am playing" and hugged them close to her chest and pouted. So I went to hold out my hand and asked my dd to come over next to me (I had a feeling something was going to happen), but before I said anything, the little girl said "these are mine" again and pushed my daughter...hard enough to knock her back on her feet.