Nebulizer for 2 year old? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 02-08-2010, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My 2 year old is using a nebulizer (for the first time) with albuertol and pulmicort– he has bronchitis (with major wheezing). This is my first time having to administer medications like this. He takes these medicines using a face mask–I try to make him wear it but he does not want to– I can’t blame him. I try to hold it in front of him but he still screams. Does anyone have any advice how to give this medicine without a fight? And if you can help mom(me) with the emotional aspect that would be great.
Thanks for reading!
Katrina
#2 of 9 Old 02-08-2010, 10:57 PM

I know it stinks when they scream but if you are doing "blow-by" nebulizer treatments and he is screaming, he's inhaling plenty of the medicine. Maybe a special treat watching TV or a movie while he does the treatments?

Also, you can use an inhaler with a spacer and mask (ask MD for RX). Instead of 10-15 minutes of a neb, you just have 1 minute of getting him to breath the inhaler. Again, if he screams, her gets lots of the medicine....

I had to do option #2 with my then 5 month old when she had bronchiolitis every 4 hours around the clock. She SCREAMED bloody murder, but it helped with the wheezing.

Keep reminding yourself and explaining to him--you are taking care of him and helping him get healthy!
#3 of 9 Old 02-08-2010, 11:29 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
I just finished wrestling with my 3 year old to finish her neb, she HATES it. I second the inhaler with a spacer, this is actually DD2's 3rd winter of using inhalers, it is SOO much easier then dealing with the nebulizer but with this last round of pneumonia, we got a different doc and ended up with nebs again. Blech.

I try to give her many choices as I can. "in the bed or on the couch. Read a book or watch TV. And if DH is home then she get to choose who does it.