Crocs for toddlers? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 24 Old 04-03-2010, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Hi there - DS has lived in Robeez and Padraigs so far so I am new to actual shoes for toddlers. He has one pair of hard-soled boots which he absolutely hates, my guess is that it is because they are heavy and bulky.

Are Crocs suitable for a 16 mo? He's been walking since 13 mos and is very steady on his feet. Now that he is walking outside and it's very warm already (wayyy above average and expected to stay that way), he needs something that will give him protection but that isn't hot or cumbersome. Do Crocs provide enough support for a toddler? Can they do damage to an early walker's feet & legs? Or are they okay? I think DS would really like how easy they are to put on and also how lightweight they are, as that is what he is used to.

Thanks!

Happy mumma to my boys Henny Tom (Nov 30, 2008), Arlo Odie (Oct 5, 2010), and baby SISTER! due mid-Dec 2014.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 24 Old 04-03-2010, 10:43 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Both my kiddos wore crocs as young toddlers. In some ways they seem like protected bare feet to me. They loved being able to take them off and on themselves.

The downsides are that they can get sweaty feet in them and if you are walking on sharp gravel or sometimes even woodchips, the shoes are soft-enough that things can poke through.

Sometimes, when my kids were running-flat out, crocs can trip them (but that's true of almost any sandal they've worn).

There isn't any arch-support to speak of, but I'm not sure I think that littles need that.

My kids have very thick feet (not wide, just "tall") and most other sandals don't fit them very well. Teva makes a great toddler sandal, though.

All-in-all, though, my kids have lived in Crocs.

::::: Married for ten years to my good man :. Mama to my sweet and funny boy and my lovely little girl