What do you do with curly hair?! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 12-17-2010, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

My 2 1/2 year old daughter has naturally curly hair. I have no experience with this- there are no curls in my family. As she's getting older and her hair is getting longer, it's getting harder to manage. Is there a brush or comb that's good to use? I don't want to put any product in her hair, but have been using California Baby detangler. It used to work well, but now that her hair is so thick and long, it's not really helping much anymore. Doing hair every day is becoming a battle! And I have to do something with it after naptime because it is major bedhead when she wakes up! :) I would love any tips!

#2 of 8 Old 12-17-2010, 10:11 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Have you checked out the naturally curly forums http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/parents-curlies/ or the Curly Girl book http://www.betterworldbooks.com/curly-girl-id-0761123008.aspx yet?

I use my fingers to detangle  my son's hair and give us both a break for a few weeks by having it braided at the salon once in awhile. My own braids don't look as nice and only last 3-7 days, but sometimes that's better than nothing when I can't justify the expense of a salon.

A sleep cap or satin pillow case might also help with the "bed head".

#3 of 8 Old 12-18-2010, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the links. I will check them out. I just went and got her a new brush that may be better and some non-toxic product at whole foods. We'll see!

#4 of 8 Old 12-18-2010, 01:51 PM

A pick or wide toothed comb may be better than a brush. Comb her hair in the bath when she has conditioner in it. If you don't want to use product u can just leave a little conditioner in her hair as well. Also, for naps you can braid her hair before she goes down. Hope this helps!