The Dreaded #2 - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 01-26-2011, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My DS has a HORRIBLE time with BM's. It's incredibly heartbreaking to watch and his screams bring me to tears on a daily basis. I'm sick of his ped telling me it's "normal". He's 18 months old and has had this problem for about 9 months.

I wouldn't say he's constipated. Sometimes yes, but usually his BM's are pretty soft. Hard or soft - it doesn't matter. Pooping is an ALL day event. Poor guy will get bright red in the face and scream in pain. I also recently read that it may be because he's trying so hard NOT to go and won't relax.

I've had a lot of experience with little ones and I've NEVER seen anything like it. However, I've done a lot of research on-line and I know now that he's not alone. So when does it get easier for him? Anyone have experience with this? Tips for making him more comfortable?

Thanks for reading.

#2 of 10 Old 01-27-2011, 10:19 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)

When my daughter went through this it was completely emotional.  Physically, she was fine.  There was a lot of tension between dh and I.  Once we committed to reducing our tension, she was fine.  This did last for a couple of months and it was very unpleasant to observe.  We felt sooo badly for her!  At that age, she was unable to articulate anything verbally that was rooted in an emotional issue.  We'd take her to the chiro, he'd reset her "poop button" and she'd be fine for the rest of the day and bind right back up.  It didn't matter what kind of stool softeners we offerred her.  Glycerine sopositories (I think that's what they're called) worked, but, we hated having to go that route. 

Mama to add 10/05; ds 3/09, and two angels
#3 of 10 Old 01-27-2011, 12:17 PM