Music festival camping with kids (and cross-country plane travel too)-- any tips? (x-posted in childhood years) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 06-17-2011, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We'll be camping for four nights at a music festival with DD (4.5 yo) and DS (21 months). We've done it once before, so are not total newbies, but would love any tips on what to bring or camping with kids in general. Oh--and snack/food ideas too. We will have a cooler, but no way to cook.

Thanks, mamas!

Here's what we are planning on bringing for them to play with:

- cardboard playhouse for them to decorate and play in (a HUGE hit with all the kids last time!)

- markers, crayons

- rocket balloons

- glowsicks

crochetsmilie.gif mama to DD 8/06, DS 9/09

Set the gearshift for the high gear of your soul jammin.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 06-17-2011, 12:03 PM

We haven't done an overnite festival yet, but I can't wait till we get that chance.  What has been awesome for us at all day shows/fests are bubbles.  Lots & lots of bubbles.  Different kinds of bubbles.  Bubble guns.  And a spray water bottle for misting to keep everyone cool.  Plus they just love it regardless.

In terms of snacks...I don't know what your kids like but mine are a little picky so with no way to cook, here is what would fly for us. 

PB&J

Yogurts (not sure if you will have access to additional ice throughout the time?)

Cheese & Crackers

Berries/Grapes

Dry cereal (our kids really like the Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon)

Cheddar Bunnies (I know they are kind of crap, but they are good for certain situations)

Fruit Strips (out whole foods carries their own brand of fruit strips that my kids will often eat)

Stephanie~hippie.gifwife to Dov, mama to Ella Irie (9/24/07) & Kaya Raine (2/1/10)~our vbac.gifbaby, born 45 hours after PROM!!!
#3 of 7 Old 06-19-2011, 01:56 PM