I've created a sign language monster! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 12-22-2011, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
cww

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

A few weeks ago I was posting here because I was worried that our daughter (now 11m) wasn't catching on to the sign language that I had been using with her for several months, but suddenly she is responding to and using the signs "milk" and "more" (although I think she uses "more" more generally to mean food?).  The problem now is that she signs milk about every 10 minutes whenever she and I are together, and she will often sign milk or more at totally impossible times, like in the middle of a messy diaper change, or in the middle of a walk, or after she's already nursed three times in a row, or after she's finished eating and is already throwing all the food I give her onto the floor. 

On the one hand, I want to reinforce the new skill of signing by rewarding her immediately whenever she uses a sign, so that she knows that she has used it correctly and that I'm listening to her.  On the other hand, I don't want to train her to ask for milk every ten minutes, or to get the idea that Mommy always has to do what she says!  I've tried signing "wait" to her, but that just makes her mad.  If she were older, I would say something to acknowledge her request but explain briefly why we needed to wait, and then I'd try to engage her with a fun toy instead.  But I don't know how to do that at her level.  I don't want to just distract or ignore her, because I'm concerned that she will think that we don't understand her, or don't listen to her, but I don't know how to acknowledge her request to show her that I've heard her and then move on to something else in a way that she will understand.  For those of you who used sign language with your kiddos, what did you do in this kind of situation? 

Thanks for reading my post!

DD born at 40w2d on 1/19/2011
DD born at 40w1d on 3/1/2014