19 month old who won't stop crying around other kids... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 03-19-2012, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi guys,

I am a professional caregiver, I have an in-home daycare, and I have a problem with a little girl who has been coming to us for about 6 months. She is 19 months now and though this problem has been off and on, it is finally just making me bonkers and I can't seem to do anything about it or find any resources to help me with it! She is only with me 2 days a week (monday and friday) and seems to HATE other kids. She apparently had this problem at the dayhome she was in before us, I spoke to that caregiver and she said she never did have a solution and there were literally days that she would cry ALL DAY LONG after any small episode with another child (though particularly with another young girl smaller than her).

She is 2 months younger than my daughter and one month older than another girl we have, but has been developmentally very different from either of them. Physically, she was quite slow (not walking until about 15 months?), socially (even though she has been in care since she was 6 months, poor thing) she really has no ability to even play side-by-side with other children, and will often just "freak out" when they do something like take a toy or even play loudly near her. She seems to be very good, however, at parroting sounds and even words though she doesn't communicate with me at all in ways that I can understand. (though she always has a soother in her mouth!).

I am at my wits end because there are times when she just will not settle, AT ALL. I mean she will cry for hours, even if I try to hold her (or of course distract her in a multitude of ways). If I try to pay special attention to her, of course my daughter and the other kids will come over, and that just sets her off again.