daycare toliet training - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 07-24-2012, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

hello, i am here to get advice if possible. viewpoints. i work at a  daycare feel the treatment towards the children being pottytrained is over the top. for example the daycare lead gets very upset when the children mess themselves. whether it's an alredy-trained child (3 or 4), she will raise her voice, say it is "unacceptable", "gross", and the children always begin to cry, but she continues on a  lecture.

then with the ones being trained who are around 2 it is basicaly the same thing.  to the point i feel anxiety if one of them has wet themself, i dont want them to get in trouble, i know they will cry, and a few times i have been able to 'save" them by cleaning them myself but i work as a float so i cant always do this. it is clear to me that especially one of these kids really is not ready to be trained, but the daycare lead insists it get done because otherwise we miss the "window of opportunity".

it makes me sad for the children knowing they cant verbalize to their moms, at least not the 2 year olds.   when i have mentioned a little thing here or there to my coworkers, they dont really respond. that is why i am coming here, to get some viewpoints?

i did recently say to the lead "well it can be hard learning something new" she said, 'he's had plenty of time to learn it's been almost two months now, he is just being stubborn" .

i do know children really are being only "stubborn" at times, even often depending on the child. but i still feel like potty training should be done with the young child's dignity in mind, and sensitivity too. any views/feelings? i feel frustrated because  feel i will only be fired if i approach the lead again or express my views. should  i stop worrying because i am blowing it out of proportion?

#2 of 7 Old 07-24-2012, 07:07 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)