My kid won't eat vegetables! Any ideas? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 01-10-2013, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

All she wants are carbs and dairy. She will go through phases where she'll eat, say, clementines (right now it's boiled carrots), but then the next day she'll refuse a fruit/vegetable I thought was a sure thing. She has constipation problems. I give her whole grains whenever possible but I worry about her overall nutrition.  So frustrating!

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 18 Old 01-10-2013, 03:50 PM

My 2 year old is the same. I have some success with smoothies. I make veggie puree and freeze it in an ice cubes tray-this week is chard, kale, carrots, and Lima bean-then I have him help me make the smoothie (he gets a to push the button on the blender. We usually do banana, strawberries, and blueberries with yogurt and milk (coconut milk is good too) and sometimes an avocado along with 2 veggie cubes. You can also add flax(seeds, oil, or meal) which is full of good things or chia seeds. Flax oil is really great for constipation 1-2tbs per day helped my little guy a lot when he was potty training and 'holding it' rather than poop on a potty. Anyway he can't even tell there are veggies in the smoothie and its really good for momma too!
Snapdragon likes this.
#3 of 18 Old 01-10-2013, 04:57 PM

If you're not against hiding veggies there's a few things to try.  I sometimes make homemade Larabars, but I sub a bit of raw carrot for some of the dates.  I recently read a lady that makes tater-tots using shredded zucchini in with the potatoes.  She bakes them in muffin tins.  If they'll eat tomato soup you can add a bit of beets or carrots before throwing it all into the blender.