Lying at 4 years old. HELP!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 01-20-2013, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'M NEW TO THIS. I KNOW THAT THIS IS A LOT TO READ, BUT I NEED HELP. I find my step daughter lying constantly. And as absurd as it sounds, some of the family members ( grandma) believes everything she says and thinks I'm always being mean to her. I have taken care of her since she was a year old. I've been a mother to her. I live with her father and his parents. At my house she has no discipline. And at her moms she has a lot of discipline. I've noticed that when she is around her mom she is a very well behaved child. With little tantrums here and there. But that's normal. When she comes to my house she listens to absolutely know one. Does whatever she wants and no one says anything. I try to discipline her by telling her no when she is doing something where she can hurt herself or when she's is hitting her cousins, so she sees me as the "mean" one at this house because I'm the only one who pays any attention to her. All of a
Sudden she has started lying about everything and is very serious about these lies. I know it sounds crazy, but it's true. She will say her cousins are hitting her when I know they aren't and will go crying to her grandma and her grandma will yell at the cousins. But when my four year old hit the cousins and they tell the grandma still tells at the cousin for making my step daughter mad. It's ridiculous. Recently she sheen lying about me saying that I'm taking things from her or that I poked her in the eye and her grandma has started yelling at me as well. Is it normal for a four year old to lie this much, constantly? I don't remember ever lying like that and my mother said I hardly ever told lies. Idk what I'm suppose