Explanations for sudden change in behavior - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 01-26-2014, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)

My previously lovely, funny, joyful toddler has been cranky for going on about 2 weeks. I realize that kids this age flow in and out of phases where they're not so flexible but I wonder if maybe more is going on for my LO.  Maybe I can share some of the possible connections and members can share their opinions about potential contributing factors?  

First, I am a student and last semester my DC was awesome about going to her father and other family for care while I was at school. At the end of the semester I even slow-started her at a pre-K and she adjusted like a champ.  Then the winter break came and we were major home-bodies. I wanted to give my family a break from helping with child care so DC and I spent A LOT of time together. 

When she started back to pre-K she was super clingy and was not comfortable with me even leaving the room. Now, she's become fearful of being with her dad even. I used to be able to leave her with absolutely NO problems (I've even done two long weekends away with absolutely NO problems).  Now she's freaked out when I go downstairs. 

Do you think it's just the extra time together/lack of care from others that is making her so clingy?  Do you think that after a short adjustment period when I start back at school will "fix" her?  

The other possible connection is that she got sick about 10 days ago. She started getting super cranky about 10 days ago, then a couple days after that she got a fever for a couple of days. During that time she had enough energy to be pretty cranky during those days. Then, about 2 days after the fever she started vomiting. That lasted one day and I figured she was on the mend. Except that it's been a few days since that and her mood hasn't really improved.