What is it like to have multiple children? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes

Old 07-07-2014, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Question What is it like to have multiple children?

Hi, I am a college student doing a project on what it is like to be a parent with multiple small children. I hope to get some input and feedback from anyone willing to respond.

How many children do you have? - what ages?

As a parent, what is your/your child's schedule like on a daily basis?

What difficulties do you run into on a daily basis? What is a constant or persistent struggle for you?

Do you have any organizational products that you use that make your life easier?

What needs to be better organized (in your/your child's life), but you have not found a system that works (or works well) for you yet?

Thank you for your time
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-15-2014, 12:16 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Hello bradlenl,

I have four children, ages 8, 6, 4, and 3.

Our schedule is fairly loose. We wake up, pray morning prayers, eat breakfast, put dishes in the sink, and start school work and other chores.
At lunchtime (around 11) we pray grace, eat lunch, put dishes in the sink and my children get a break to play while I wash dishes and sweep the floor.
More schoolwork in the afternoon along with lots of playing. We usually eat a snack between 1:30 and 3:30.
At dinnertime (around 5) we pray grace and eat. If the weather is not threatening we'll go outside before dark, and on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays they all take baths (girls then boys).
Every night we pray the rosary a half hour before bedtime along with night prayers. Then comes brushing teeth and bedtime.

Difficulties include getting them to clean up after themselves (and preventing major messes in the first place by hiding scissors and using sippy cups for example) and breaking up fights.

My planner helps me keep track of appointments.