Not eating at 12 months? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 06-04-2006, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am new to the toddler forum, as my dd just turned 1. She is technically not yet a toddler because she doesn't walk, but I thought this fit better here than in Life With A Babe. Anyway, my dd has no interest in solid food. Zero. I know that she is okay, but I'm worried because what if she never wants to eat and starts losing weight? Is anyone else in the same boat? Please ease my fears some.
#2 of 16 Old 06-04-2006, 01:05 PM

It's fine. My dd didn't eat more than a taste of solids until 13 months. Just keep nursing.

-Angela
#3 of 16 Old 06-04-2006, 01:11 PM

Although my daughter has always been a big eater I know plenty of babies who were not into solids until much later than 12 months and they were fine.

As long as she isn't loosing a ton of weight or is still growing in some way, height or weight I think you are fine. BM really will give her what she needs for a long time.

Just so you know their growth curves slows way down around a year so don't be worried if she isn't growing as much or as fast as she did up till this point.
#4 of 16 Old 06-04-2006, 01:18 PM

My dd didn't really start to eat until closer to 16 months. Now at 18 months she still gets 90-95% of her nutrition from breastmilk. Some kids just aren't ready until they are older. Don't push it, but offer bits of your meal at meal time and one day she'll eat. And keep nursing!

Mama of three.

#5 of 16 Old 06-04-2006, 01:36 PM

Yeah, my dd didn't eat much food until about 16 mos or so. She still nurses like a fiend but gobbles down solids too. She's 2.
#6 of 16 Old 06-04-2006, 02:42 PM

Yep, not alone there. That was ds at 12 months. At nearly 15 he is still not eating much. It does get a little disconcerting. I have to keep telling myself "he is fine, he will eat when he is ready, he gets all he needs from my milk".