Signing. Need Advice! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 07-16-2003, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We've been signing with our year old son for a few months. Focusing on six or seven signs with a book for pictures and examples. They're all bedtime signs.

He's so great at it, and we're really happy about his progress. The only thing is when he gets excited or tired or anything really, he does them all at once. So the communication factor isn't all that high, you know?

I want to expand on his signing vocabulary but am afraid of overloading him. What's a good number idea for beginners. 10 - 20?

What is/was your signing experience?
#2 of 10 Old 07-16-2003, 08:11 PM

I'm no expert but I'll give you my 2 cents.

DS2 is also 1 and we're using 4 signs on a regular basis (more, all done, strawberry and cracker). I use other signs every now and then so much for him to learn them right now but more to familiarize him with them. Kind of like verbal communication, we use a lot words but expect them to start with 1 or 2 small ones.

10-20 signs for a 1 year old to actually learn and be proficient at all at once seems like a lot, but you're little one may be ready for the challenge. Maybe introduce 1 or 2 new ones and see how he does?

Good luck!
#3 of 10 Old 07-16-2003, 10:24 PM - Thread Starter

I am bad enough to bump my own thread!

Thanks pudgybunmama!
#4 of 10 Old 07-17-2003, 12:46 AM

We signed a lot with DD - had about 20 signs + at one year old. I would introduce one or two every week with her and just see which ones she picked up. I think they get better and better at differentiating the signs and then seem to have their favorite ones. DD, at 23 months, still uses some of her signs for words that are hard for her (star, elephant). And her favorite sign, pig, she uses with the verbal word. She just thinks the sign is hilarious and loves to use it!

I say keep going! Sign away!