Problem with doc and cow milk question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 05-27-2011, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello! I'm new to the mothering community and am looking for some good advice about a problem with my son's new doctor... any advice would be appreciated! I know its a long read!

At his 12 month appt the doc gave some suggestions to wean on to cows milk, but ended it saying that there was nothing wrong with just nursing instead and that I shouldnt feel that I NEED to wean him to cows milk. She said my breastmilk was "far superior" to any other animals' milk. So I gave weaning a half attempt and decided it wasn't for me! Then we moved...

We just went to my son's 15 month well baby appt with his new doc. She about chocked when I said he didnt drink any cows milk and told me that after six months of nursing my milk "no longer has nutrition". She said that he needs the fat and the Vitamin D from the whole milk and while I could get him the fat from other foods if I am really careful, but that I need to give him a supplement for the Vitamin D... =(

I dont know what to think or do! On one hand I KNOW that mothers' milk has nutrition past 6 months so do I trust her information on the vitamin supplement? My husband thinks we should switch doctors because I dont feel comfortable with her anymore (which I agree), but with our insurance we still have to go to the same clinic so all the docs will probably have the same view re:breastmilk.

My other problem is that he is still hard to reason with at meal and snack times. Some days he gets a wide variety of food and some days he will be really pickey and only want hummus, apple sauce and lentil beans or something. It's not like I could tell him, "no playing til you eat your dinner!'... I counted on providing him with a wide variety of healthy foods and my milk adding in what he doesnt eat... is that a bad assumption?