nursing strike? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 03-18-2012, 09:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I suppose this is my last ditch effort to salvage my nursing relationship with my 14 month old.  This is my third child, with my other two children I nursed until about 26 months.  My first gradually weaned herself, with my second I actively nudged him towards weaning.  With my third, I have had zero problems nursing from birth on.  Until 7 months he had nothing but breast milk, he never had any problems latching.  I went back to work at 5 months and he had no problems with bottles, or with nursing after using bottles during the day.  Up until 13 months, I would guess he got about 85-90% of his nutrition from nursing still, he ate some sold foods but much preferred to nurse.  

I am an attorney and the case I was working on went to trial.  I was out of town for 2.5 weeks and did not see my kids for that entire time.  I pumped while at trial, to maintain my supply.  When I returned home, my baby refused to nurse.  I offered as soon as I saw him, and he mouthed my nipple, but never really latched.  Now whenever I offer, he shakes his head no and sometimes pulls my shirt back down.  I have read about nursing strikes, and noted it is best to be persistant.  It has been 5 days now since I have returned home. I have offered often, and have tried to nurse when he is sleepy/sleeping in the hopes that if he is striking because he is still upset I left that would help.  I have also tried to give hi plenty of time in the sling, and skin on skin time but I have had no luck.  At worst he seems distressed when I offer, at best he has halfheartedly tried to latch briefly and then physically turns away.  We co-sleep at night, and I have had no luck at night either.