Length of time to breastfeed exclusively? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-08-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the online Mothering but, back in the day, I was a subscriber. I'm an expectant mom, due at the end of July. I also have three older children, ages 13, 11 and 9. I obviously haven't done this in a while:)

While at a pregnant mom's group at our local birthing center, I asked one of the midwives about the length of time I should be breastfeeding exclusively. I immediately followed up my question with my past experience so that it didn't seem like I was trying to shoot for the shortest length of time possible:) I breastfed my oldest exclusively (absolutely nothing else except for a bit of formula supplementing when he was days old because of sever jaundice) for one year. I was sort of crazy about it...on his first birthday I freaked out because I didn't want the sugary birthday cake and frosting to be his first "other" food:) I continued to breastfeed after that as well but he weened himself when I got pregnant a few months later. My younger two were exclusively breastfed for at least six months and even though other foods were introduced, they continued past two year (though at the end it was mostly at night).

Back to my original story...the midwife seemed a bit shocked that I would consider exclusively breastfeeding for the entire first year. She said it's best to start introducing solids around six months. She mentioned something about a vitamin D issue?

I'm in a position that I feel I'm able to do the entire year (I know it can be taxing) and would like to. After quite a bit of research, I'm torn. What are your thoughts? It seems there is quite a bit of controversy out there. I would love to hear your thoughts/ideas and opinions.

Thanks so much!

Samara

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-08-2012, 12:12 PM