Mothering Forum banner

DD has been nursing to sleep for 4 years...how in the world do I end the bedtime nursing??

924 views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  bluedaisy 
#1 ·
I've been nursing DD for almost 4 years (her bday is in 3 weeks) and tandem nursing for 9 of those months. She nurses only before bed (falls asleep nursing), in the morning when she wakes up, and sometimes in the middle of the night.

I am ready for her to wean...I was hoping she would stop on her own but she shows no signs of wanting to stop and with a 9 month old as well I am just exhausted all the time.

I have no idea where to begin...I was able to stop daytime nursing several months ago with distraction, but taht won't work with the bedtime and middle of the night nursing.

I was thinking of maybe doing a sticker chart or something - keep track of the nights and mornings she doesn't nurse and then offer some kind of reward, I'm not sure what to offer her though - I just feel like she won't stop without some incentive, and that would still make it technically her choice to stop. We've been talking for a while that eventually she will be older and will not nurse any more.

Any suggestions on how to do this? I was hoping to wean her by the time she is 4 or shortly after that but I also don't want to just stop her cold turkey and forbid her from nursing...help!!!

See less See more
#2 ·
Ds weaned at 4 y/o by mutual agreement. I started by stopping nursing on demand around 3.5 y/o; I would nurse him 3 times a day: in the morning, when I got home from work and at bedtime. Then two months later we dropped one nursing session, and two months later, another one. We started talking about when he turns 4, he'll get a big cake, his first friend-birthday party and he'll stop nursing.

After he turned 4, I offered a couple of times and he said: "Mom, I'm 4 y/o now, I don't nurse anymore". I think he was ready.

I find that at this age distraction doesn't work that well.

HTH

#3 ·