Can newborn catch something from toddler via tandem nursing? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-09-2013, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Are those nipples passing contagious viruses?

My DD, age 2.5, nurses once in the morning and once at night. My DS, age 1 month, nurses all the time. :D

DD had a fever yesterday and has a runny nose. We noticed a slight rash, like mild tiny pimples but without the white centers, all over her body but it doesn't seem to be bothering her. She's also getting a big back molar in, so we think it might just be teething.

But in case it isn't the teething, should I be worried about DD and DS nursing from the same nipples?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2013, 11:55 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
That sounds like Roseola. I'm pretty sure it can be transferred through saliva but I'm not an expert.

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/roseola/DS00452

Wife to one amazing husband superhero.gif, SAHM to DS bouncy.gif 10/09, DS babyboy.gif 10/19,  one furbaby dog2.gif, and lots of chicken3.gif!

joy.gif

Old 11-09-2013, 03:27 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Anything which can be transmitted via saliva can be passed by sharing nipples.

Mother of two spectacular girls, born mid-2010 and late 2012  mdcblog5.gif

Old 11-09-2013, 03:47 PM

Quoted: 16 Post(s)

The other question is: is it possible in any practical way for a newborn to avoid catching things from their toddler sibling, whether they're tandem nursing or not?  In my experience, toddlers are very creative at finding ways to share saliva with their family members.

Old 11-09-2013, 05:04 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)