How do I STOP!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 03-29-2005, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been hating it for the last 3 1/2 months. I don't know how to brainwash myself into liking it, or at least learn to cope with it better.

I nurse a 1.2yo and a 3.4yo. We had our good days and we had our bad days but when DD1 turned 3yo things got worse, A LOT WORSE. She began nursing much more, she started night nursing again and she goes on and on and oooon. I don't have any patience anymore and I don't know what to do. I sometimes try to wait it out and let her nurse as long as she wants but it's like she is never going to stop... so I end up losing my self control and saying 'okay,that's it let's go do something else' ... she gets upset and I end up feeling worse.

I have never thought of weaning her but I think that this situation is more harmful than weaning because she is being rejected. How do I STOP!!! I need to control my impulses with DD1.

How can I mend the damage that I have done to her? Please help, for our nursing relationship's sake.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 03-29-2005, 08:44 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Ruth, single mommy to Leah, 19, Hannah, 18 (commuting to college), and Jack, 13(homeschooled)
#3 of 5 Old 03-30-2005, 05:59 AM

Have you talked with DD1 about nursing limits? Maybe tell her she can nurse for 5 minutes and then the two of you will color together (or another activity together) or set limits on what time of day she can nurse, etc. Then, it won't be an issue of you being frustrated from her nursing, but about how she needs to be respectful of your "rules" (for lack of a better word right now). You kwim, I'm sure - it's late.
#4 of 5 Old 03-30-2005, 05:28 PM