Mothering Forum banner

I am so done nursing my 3 year old

616 views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  GracesMama 
#1 ·
I feel so bad about this, but I just don't enjoy nursing my 3 year old anymore(I'm also nursing a 5 month old). I feel totally touched out, and my skin just crawls when she nurses. I felt this way when I was pregnant, but it went away once the baby was born. Now it's back.

I really had planned on letting her decide when to wean, but I'm tempted to push the process along. She nurses before she naps, before she goes to sleep, and once or twice at night. I think part of the problem is that it drives me crazy how demanding she can be. She'll whine over and over again, "I want nursies," while I'm in the other room nursing my baby to sleep or when she wakes up in the morning and I've already gotten out of bed.

Any suggestions?? Has anyone else gone through this? Maybe it's just a phase for me?

#2 ·
Hi there...

I'm new to the breastfeeding forum, but I feel for you. I had the exact same experience at about the same age, and I thought it was because of tandem nursing, but when my second daughter was a little over three, the same thing happened again, and I didn't have another nursling then.

With my first daughter, I read her Maggie's Weaning (from LLL) a couple of times - she loved the book. I had been worried about her reaction to the idea of weaning and thought she might hate the book, but it had quite the opposite effect. She quickly decided that, like Maggie in the book, she was big enough to be weaned, and weaned herself in about a week. It was actually much more sudden than I expected and I was taken by suprise. It was a bittersweet time.