my swiffer wet jet broke what do I do?!?! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 04-27-2009, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i have been using my swiffer wet jet for about 3 years now. i stoped buying the soap and pads soon after i started using it, just refilled the bottle with water/vinegar/sal suds and used microfiber clothes to mop. but it broke over the weekend, the battery compartment was all rusty and ruined my reusable batteries. now what? i loved that mop, i washed the floor so much more often because of it. we have a dust mop i use on the wood floors as well as a rag top mop that i can throw into the washing machine, but it requires a bucket of water/vinegar/saop, am i being lazy i don't want to fill a bucket to wash the kitchen floor every 2-3 days (we have a 2.5yo and an 9mo so the floor in the kitchen gets dirty quick). should i just suck it up and buy another swiffer wet jet? i am concerned the battery compartment willl just ryst again, has that happened to anyone? also i was thinking of using the dust mop with a spray bottle of the same cleaning solution to wash the floors as needed and then doing a good wash once a week. any ideas?

what do you use to wash your floor; wood/tile?
how often do you wash?
#2 of 10 Old 04-28-2009, 09:19 AM

I have a Swiffer Wet Jet but don't use the disposable pads or Swiffer cleansers with it either. I stick a Microfiber pad on the end and squirt my mix (very similar to yours) manually, around the floor. I don't use the self-squirting component at all. I then just mop it all up. I tend to wash the floors once or twice a week.

S~ Peace loving, natural living, FuNkY vegan mama to Keiran bouncy.gif 23/Dec/06:
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter" ~~ MLK
#3 of 10 Old 05-04-2009, 11:51 AM