Curtain Help - How many panels do I need? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 5 Old 05-04-2011, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
 
lucyem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have 4 windows in a row.  Each your standard double pane 28" wide window.  Between each window is about an 8 inch piece of molding.  I am looking at curtain panels and I could get 4, one for each window.  I guess let them hang between the windows and on the ends.  Not exactly sure how to set it up.  Or I could get 2 very wide panels.  Each would cover 2 windows and hang on either side of the row of windows.  What do you think?

lucyem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 of 5 Old 05-04-2011, 10:37 AM
 
amma_mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: In a parallel universe
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Curtain panels are typically about 28 inches, so you would need 2 per window as you want them to drape nicely with folds eve n when closed. You may be able to get away with six, but it depends on how you are setting up the rods (1, 2, or 4).

Apparently doing it rong and ruining it for everyone, but I don't give a crap anymorebanana.gif

amma_mama is offline  
#3 of 5 Old 05-04-2011, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
 
lucyem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

There is already one very long rod over them all with one holder that stops rings right in the middle.  The panels I am looking at are 50 inches wide or 100 inches wide.  The curtains would not be pulled back by anything, but just hang so we can easily pull open and shut.  They are long panels that will hit the floor.

 

 

lucyem is offline  
#4 of 5 Old 05-04-2011, 02:58 PM
 
cristeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I would go with 1 panel per. It makes getting light in feasible. I have a huge picture window w 1 panel over it and when we pull the curtain back it blocks almost the entire first fourth of the window, and gets in the way. W 1 panel each, you can just scrunch it up between windows w/o much difficulty.

Cristeen ~ Always remembering our stillheart.gif  warrior ~ Our rainbow1284.gif  is 3, how'd that happen?!?! 

We welcomed another rainbow1284.gifstillheart.gif  warrior in May 2012!! 

2012 Decluttering challenge - 575/2012

cristeen is offline  
#5 of 5 Old 05-04-2011, 08:37 PM
 
bezark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

If you're going to do one on each end and in between each pair, you'll need 5 panels, not 4 (unless I've missed something).

 

If ~ represents curtains and [_] represents windows, it'd look a bit like this:

 

~[_]~[_]~[_]~[_]~

 

And that's perfectly fine. In our house curtains are just for looks anyhow; we use blinds for privacy and light filtering.

bezark is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off