Bed Frame ideas needed! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi! I'm pretty new to this end of the forum, but I'm in the market for some home improvement type stuff, just because I want to get more organized, and have some furniture that I like and that will last a while.

I just ordered my ds a trundle for a bed (I'm a single mom, we live in the 1BR, this will save us lots of space, and he will be able to sleep in his own space - he's 3yo, and we're both ready to be done co-sleeping.

I'm now looking for a bed frame for my mattress/box spring that his trundle will fut under. It will need at least 10" of space under the frame so that the trundle fits (this will allow his comforter. sheets, etc to clear the bed, it gives me 3" extra space above the minimum I would need), and there will need to be at least 74" between the feet on the bedframe (so that it fits lengthwise). His trundle is wood, and will be a mahogany finish (this style was 50% off, I don't much care if they match or not as long as both are wood, or they don't clash too terribly much - it wasn't my first choice for stain, but oh well).

Any ideas of where I can look for a nice bedframe that won't cost me a terrible amount of money? I am trying to be very careful budgeting my money, and can probably spend about $300-400 on this (I already got my tax return).

TIA!

#2 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 03:05 PM

Ikea has several bed frames that work with trundles, though I guess if you had the store near you you would have bought the trundle there.

bbb has bed raisers that might work with your current frame

mom to 14yr dd and 4yr dd
#3 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter