Christmas tree: Real or artificial? - Mothering Forums

View Poll Results: Which kind of Christmas tree do you prefer?
Real--Cut tree 17 53.13%
Artficial Tree 10 31.25%
Living Tree 2 6.25%
None 1 3.13%
Other 2 6.25%
Voters: 32. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-29-2012, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)

When it comes time to decorate for Christmas, what kind of tree do you put up?  What are your reasons for choosing that?

Married to a wonderful woman since 2010. Baby boy C arrived in June 2013!

Check out our User Agreement.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-29-2012, 05:02 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey Pokey!

We have an artificial tree just because I've owned it for so long. Got it probably about 13 years ago at Walmart (I was a poor student and thought I could save money by shopping there...) and I think the box says: $19.95.

We don't put it up every year, we're not big holiday people.

I read in a pro/con recently (in a magazine, the name of which I of course can't remember) that in order to offset the environmental impact of producing a fake tree you have to use it for at least twenty years!

Anyway, all the best to you and your partner! Hope all is well and I so look forward to seeing you do well and deliver a healthy and happy baby!

Now that I am a mom I no longer have time for knit.gif,teapot2.GIF,read.gif
Old 11-29-2012, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter

Thank you, dakipode!  wave.gif

We have a real tree because my wife wanted to carry on that tradition from her childhood and it was more important to her than it was to me not to have one.  I grew up with an artificial tree that got scrawnier each year.  I don't mind the real tree.  It gets composted when the holidays are over so I feel good that it is returning to the earth to help something else grow.

Old 12-02-2012, 02:47 PM