Do I have to get a SIGG?? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 05-14-2008, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I want to get a couple of sports bottle type containers for the family, as we are trying to reduce our plastic use. Is there an alternative to the pricey SIGG that is still enviro and health conscious???

Amanda
Mommy to Alonzo (11), Jacob (9), : Lucas (8) & Trinity (almost 2!!)
#2 of 17 Old 05-14-2008, 05:01 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
There are several other brands of aluminum bottles/canteens. All are fairly expensive, but the ones without a fancy outside layer cost a little less.

Another option is to find glass single-serving bottles in a size you like that have openings wide enough for a bottle brush, and wash and reuse them. I have some juice bottles I've been using for about 6 years now! My son does not use them very often, but he has been drinking from glass glasses daily since he was under a year old, and he has NEVER broken one by accident--the only times he's broken dishes have been when he was helping me wash dishes, got mad because I wouldn't let him pour water somewhere it doesn't belong, and expressed himself by throwing a dish into the sink on purpose. : Glass is not as out-of-the-question as you might think.

Mama to a boy EnviroKid treehugger.gif 9 years old and a new little girl EnviroBaby baby.gif!

I write about parenting, environment, cooking, and more. computergeek2.gif

#3 of 17 Old 05-14-2008, 06:13 PM

reuseablebags.com has coupons for 30% sometimes here on mothering.com and they have stainless steel drinking bottles/sippies.
#4 of 17 Old 05-14-2008, 06:51 PM

I have 2 stainless steel straw cup for my kids. One is a foogo and the other is thermos brand. I prefer the thermos one because it doesn't leak as much.

Kathleen SAHM to Jade 10/14/03, Aiden 2/2/06, and Hunter 5/14/09 Wife to Rob 3/28/03
I'm new to: treehugger.gif sewmachine.gif  chicken3.gif