Barbecue? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-19-2008, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm just learning about this (it really only occurred to me today and you won't believe how guilty I'm feeling!), so please bear with me.

I discovered that my old bbq gave up the ghost sometime over the winter and I want to replace it, I think. I mean, I love to not heat up the house during the summer heat BUT are bbq's really bad? Is natural charcoal better than propane, better than natural gas? What's the best kind to have/use or should I really not purchase a new one? Please enlighten me! Thank you.

Me treehugger.gif+ Him eat.gif + DD flower.gif + DSS1 guitar.gif + DSS2 REPlaySkateboard04HL.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2008, 02:12 AM

This is a matter of much debate, and entirely depends upon who you ask and what your concerns are. Some say that cooking over an open flame at all is bad, some say that the pollutants from burning charcoal are bad, some say that burning fossil fuels is bad. You really have to make your own judgment call.

That being said, I love cooking over an open flame, and since the first cooked food was over an open flame I don't have a problem with it. I will not use charcoal that has been impregnated with lighter fluid, since the simple fact that I can taste it (lighter fluid) means I'm eating it, and I don't think that's healthy. For the same reason, I won't use lighter fluid on my charcoal, and I only use hardwood charcoal (not lump).

Cristeen ~ Always remembering our stillheart.gif  warrior ~ Our rainbow1284.gif  is 3, how'd that happen?!?! 

We welcomed another rainbow1284.gifstillheart.gif  warrior in May 2012!! 

2012 Decluttering challenge - 575/2012

Old 05-20-2008, 03:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cristeen View Post