Should I or Shouldn't I? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-26-2008, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I need some advice, big time. I talked to my husband and he left it up to me. So here I am, asking for advice in the best place I know, although this is a little different than most of my situations.

I am a school teacher and my husband works on an oil rig. I am not tenured and he is in grave danger of being laid off at the moment, though we hate his job, and a few years ago I would have thought his being laid off as a blessing in disguise, we are big in trouble. I am going to give you a lot of background info so you can have a handle on the situation, so bear with me.

We got pregnant, after one time of not using protection. I stopped using BC because it gives me horrible side effects, no matter what kind I try. I did follow my chart and I shouldn't have been ovulating. We wanted a third child, so we are not upset about the pregnancy. It wasn't the best timing, but there is almost never a perfect time for such things anyway.

I had already made the decision to do everything possible to stay home and take care of my two children next school year instead of going back to work. It is important to our family that I stay home, and I have been trying to find a second job to help us out.

As I am not tenured, it is never certain that I would have had a job next year in the first place, this year I found out there was a place for me after being laid off, a week before school went back into session.