What do you do for charity... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 03-02-2009, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
...either monetarily or in other ways? I'm just curious. My family does its part, but feel we could do more. Inspire me with your stories!

Traditional Catholic, aspiring to everyday sanctity. Mama to two amazing girls. Wife to my best friend.
#2 of 20 Old 03-02-2009, 11:01 PM

We don't do as much as we should, I'm sure. I give to the food pantry and I volunteer at a pregnancy crisis center. I also make and donate pouch slings to low income families in the area. That's about it right now.

Trying to balance a preschooler and peace....
#3 of 20 Old 03-02-2009, 11:20 PM

I've done different things, but currently I am a substitute driver for Meals on Wheels. I like that I can take my children with me and it is very hands-on helping. I drive once or twice a month.

Tanya
Mom to John (age 11), James (age 9) & Katherine (age 5)
#4 of 20 Old 03-03-2009, 12:11 AM

*Organize a school supplies drive at my church (in July-early Aug) to benefit our township's school supplies giveaway for needy kids.

*Organize toy drive for kids in foster care - I organize it at the "local" level at my church, and sit on the board of the regional denominational organization that organizes the whole thing.

*A local Lutheran church is a Saturday night site for homeless folks. My church comes in about once a month in the cold months to do dinner. We don't have the facilities for overnights, so we team up with the Lutheran church.

*Regular contributions to the township's food pantry, through the donations barrel in the entranceway at my church. It's always overflowing now and items have to be taken to food pantry once a week.

*Head of my women's group at church and we regularly donate formula and other items as needed to a local crisis pregnancy center.