Medical Bill - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 03-04-2009, 11:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I went to the ER in January because I thought I might have a blood clot in my calf. (There's a family history of blood clots with both my mom and dad, so I freak out about that stuff.) It turned out to be nothing, but the bill is for $1600. I just about fell over. We have a high-deductible health insurance plan.

So...I have a call in to the hospital's billing office and I was going to ask them if there was anything they could do to lower the bill. I've never done this before. Is this done? How would I word it? What kind of "deal," if any, could I get?

Thanks in advance. I'm just in shock that it was for so much! I don't know what I expected -- $500 maybe? I mean, I waited there for five hours and was seen for about an hour total.

Formerly New Mama to Henry, born August 2005 and Silas, born November 2010.
#2 of 11 Old 03-04-2009, 11:55 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
I haven't heard of doing this, but I suppose that you don't get what you don't ask for. Other mamas may have more sound advice on how to go about it, but the least you could do is arrange an incremental payment plan without any "finance" or "late" charges. Good luck!

In God we trust; all others must show data. selectivevax.gifsurf.gifteapot2.GIFintactivist.gif
#3 of 11 Old 03-05-2009, 12:25 AM

I have a neighbor who does this. I am not sure how he words it- he is very persuasive. If you can write out a check for like $1000- offer that- otherwise tell them you will be making payments. That is what I would do anyway.

Iowaorganic- mama to DD (1/5/06), DS1 (4/9/07), DS2 (1/22/09), DS3 (12/10/10), DD2 (7/6/12) and a new kid due in early 2014

#4 of 11 Old 03-05-2009, 01:08 AM

ask if they offer any plan for low-income....our er does

if theres no way to write it off altogether they should be able to set up a payment plan