$1000/ mo for groceries - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 120 Old 05-13-2009, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
That is my budget and I have a hard time sticking to it...help!!!

We are a family of 6. I have one son with a peanut allergy and dh is a south beacher. I buy very little organic because simply we cannot afford it, so pretty much just apple juice and brown rice are organic. I do the bulk of my shopping at Aldis (don't know if they are national or not, so let me know if I need to explain). Then I go to a regular grocery store where I get the rest of my produce, and then I buy whats on sale for meats and sale/ generic for the items I can't get at Aldis.

I always shop from a list. In fact I have a master grocery list that I refer to each time I plan my shopping, and aside from milk, I rarely run out of anything because I try to buy ahead so that I don't have to pay extra because I ran out of something when it is not on sale.

We eat alot of soups. Some of my "meatier" soups I have cut down on the amt of meat and increased the amt of beans. When we don't have soup, we usually have chicken, pork or steak on the grill and veggies, sometimes with cottage cheese and/or applesauce. Rarely I do pasta dishes (they don't agree with dh's waist line even when they are whole wheat), and I about once a week I will make something less than ideal (usually chicken patties) for the kids because I am lazy or dh and I want to eat something really spicy or otherwise kid unfriendly. I do use canned beans because I haven't ever gotten the hang of planning far enough in advance to soak dry beans. Eggs and turkey bacon is a pretty much every day menu item, primarily because of dh's diet, and on weekends, everyone has an omlet, bacon, sometimes sausage. Kids have packed lunch every day...juice box, ham/turkey sandwich, bag of crackers or chips, fruit, cereal bar for snack.