Tight Food Budget/Whiney Family - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 68 Old 05-30-2009, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I AM SO PISSED AT MY FAMILY!

We are on a tight budget. I have successfully cut our food costs in 1/2. This week I decided to do pantry cooking, using up a bunch of stuff in the fridge/freezer and pantry.
I am dealing with schedules that conflict..baseball games and practices and Kung Fu classes 3 evenings a week.
I am dealing with a vegan teenage daughter, a picky "breatharian" and a DH who is a bit obnoxious when the budget goes over but doesn't do much cooking. Honestly, I don't mind that he doesn't cook. He does all the laundry and in general, I find cooking quite enjoyable.
I do have one kid who mostly eats what I give him.
One pot meals make sense. I am an experienced vegetarian cook so cutting expenses by decreasing meat makes the most sense.
Here's what I've prepared for dinner and the responses to it.

Monday: Burgers & Salad. Picky breatharian complained about the "brown goo seeping out" and refused to eat it. DH was hurt we didn't wait for him to come home at 7:30 to eat. He had a burger to grill when he did arrive. Vegan ate a boca burger. No one cleaned up.

Tuesday: Used up the last of some red peppers, made a dent in the Costco broccoli and bought one carrot to make a tofu/veggie stir fry...Yuck on the broccoli from vegan (made a boca burger), yuck on the tofu from breatharian (didn't eat), DH decided he wasn't hungry. Youngest DS and I ate stir fry wraps. I ate leftovers for lunch. DH did clean up.

Wednesday: Lentil/veggie soup. Breatharian gagged it down with all kinds of drama. Youngest DS, who usually eats, followed his brother's example.DH skipped dinner. Complained about no bread with soup. Vegan ate a bowl after Tai Chi class. No one cleaned up.

Thursday: Rice & Beans w/salsa and guac. I was the only one that ate. No one cleaned up.