S/O of "Class" Thread- Why don't we say how much money we make? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 43 Old 03-28-2010, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
As I was reading through the "Are you the same class as your parents" thread, I noticed that many people don't know how much money their parents made growing up. I know I certainly didn't- when I was a kid and I would ask my parents their salary, they would always dodge the question.

Even when I was a senior in high school and I asked the question as part of the college application / financial aid process, my mom refused to tell me. She said she "didn't know," which I guess could be true but I highly doubt because she paid all the bills.

Why is it so taboo to tell anyone your annual salary?

I am a public school teacher in Illinois, and a conservative government- watchdog-type website posts all IL educator's annual salaries on their website. When I first heard about this website I was all up-in-arms about it... like HOW DARE THEY... but as the years have gone on I actually find it freeing!!! What do I have to hide? What am I ashamed of? My salary is out there for anyone with a computer and my name to find.... and my life goes on!!

Sleepy mama to Colin Theodore 8-12-08 and Trevor Arthur 7-17-12.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 43 Old 03-28-2010, 05:01 PM

I don't think it's "taboo" but more an etiquette/privacy matter. Besides does anyone need to know how much we make? And really, under what circumstances (socially) would I even mention it? And why?
#3 of 43 Old 03-28-2010, 05:07 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)