Living.... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-10-2010, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am a SAHM and Student.  I was watching kids in my home up until a couple weeks ago which fixed our $ issues but for several reasons, that did not work out.  So, it looks like we are going to have to really cut where we can in our budget.  I don't even know where to start.  I guess I am just looking for inspiration (because it seriously seems impossible to me) and some ideas to get us headed in the right direction. I'll ask a few questions and feel free to add more advice if you have it!

1. How do you eat when you're broke, super-busy, and both sides of your extended family all love to eat out??  Admittedly, when I returned to school we started doing to much fast food/take-out.  And decent "freezer foods" seem a just as expensive as eating out.

2. Our electric bill runs us about $150 each month.  And we live in a small 2 bedroom apartment.  We don't have cable, so the TV is rarely on.  What else can I do to lower this?

-T, Wife and Best Friend to R 3/2005; Mommie to E 8/2007; and G 3/2009

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2010, 01:51 PM

I'd make meals in bulk one day and 'feed your freezer' once a month or so.  Or if you are making a curry/spaghetti/soup etc. make it in HUGE batches and freeze 1/2 or 3/4 of it at a time.

Go Green I don't vax either, why mess with perfect?
Old 11-10-2010, 01:55 PM