School: Loans Are The Only Way To Go? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-04-2011, 09:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

a bit of a background:

i have a bachelors degree. however, i obtained my degree in eastern europe where i was born and grew up, so when i moved to the united states and started looking for work, my bachelors degree didnt really count as one with most of potential employers (at a few places they actually told me so). so finally after trying and failing to find a decent job for a few years now and working at a job that im not particularly fond of, i decided to go back to school and earn a degree that will be a US degree and therefore will not prevent me from employment. I chose nursing because it opens a huge scope of opportunities for different things, also because i work at a hospital that has a scholarship once you are in the program and employment for you upon graduation. 

however i do have to complete some prerequisites and i dont think i have a way to afford it without taking out a loan...

i applied for fin aid and was told that because i have another bachelors, even though it is not from this country, i dont qualify. moreover, i was told that even without my degree, i probably still wouldnt qualify because of how much money my husband and me both make. and that part completely bewildered me. we barely made 40 k between two of us las year, plus we have a child ... 

i am so upset and disappointed. they basically told me loans is the only way. 

i just completed the application for the federal loans and it makes me want to cry. we are struggling as it is and have cut a lot of our expenses in the past year, and now more debt.