International Moving - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 07-10-2011, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you have been following our family's saga (yes, yes, I know, it's fascinating =P ) that I've posted about in this subforum, you'll know we're trying to figure out where to live. So I have yet another new question, whoo!

I know a few of you have moved internationally. My family is considering such a move, to a European country. I am at a loss, however, when it comes to figuring the financial aspects of it. Should we ship our car or not? Furniture is an obvious ditch and buy new (er, used, but new to us). Does it cost a lot in taxes to buy a house overseas? ie if we sold our house here, could we just use the profits to buy a new property there? I see there's a 25% capital gains tax for foreign buyers, but is that only on investment properties? (Plus, I'm a dual resident of both countries, so I don't know how that would work.) I know moving space is limited, but I can't even get a decent moving quote for a cargo rate - you have to give the sites all sorts of specifics that I just don't know how to answer, so I can't even get a roundabout figure. I also don't know about documents... how much would we need to factor in for all the necessary paperwork, visas, clearance... etc.

My head is just spinning. Does anyone have any suggestions on where to even start? I've moved internationally before, but I was never in charge of finances - my father was, and he has since passed away, so I don't know who else to ask. I also have a few friends who have moved but their situations were very different (they were students or single and not permanent residents etc.). I wonder how it's different for a family.

coolshine.gif
#2 of 6 Old 07-10-2011, 11:40 AM

Quoted: 14 Post(s)