How to deal with other peoples' perceptions of your income level and their expectations? Advice and commiseration welcome - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-29-2011, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

There is a little bit of this discussion going on in the other thread and I thought it might be good to start a seperate thread so the other thread doesn't get too far off-topic.

So I'm relatively new to having a higher household income and I'm learning how to navigate relationships with certain people who have less who feel that we should be able to afford them things.  This issue really hit me this Christmas season, because the list of gift ideas some people sent us were just ridiculous, like a gift card to super-fancy-high-end-handbag store or an iphone.  These lists have changed from the past Christmases, when gift ideas were more reasonable.

I have a family member who turned 60 this year and even though it was a milestone birthday and we were willing to spend a little extra, his gift ideas were impossible.  One idea was to send him and his wife on a trip to see the Masters.  So when I can't fulfill any of his wish ideas, how do I not come across as a cheapskate?  Especially when later in the year I might take my own little family on a vacation?

How do you not become resentful when people expect these things out of you?

And do you ever worry about setting a precedent?  Like every year we take a small trip with my FOO and split the cost of a house rental.  This year, because of various circumstances, we might cover the cost of the whole rental.  Is that a bad idea?  Could it come back to bite us the following years? 

Please share any advice or experiences you have :)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-29-2011, 12:24 PM

Quoted: 8 Post(s)