Study / career change - can the costs be justified? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 01-02-2012, 01:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)

I'm considering the possibility of returning to study.  There are a couple of reasons:

1. I feel like I need a challenging career to be fulfilled (most important)

2. I really dislike my job / current industry - I find it boring

3. my earnings are limited due to the work I'm doing

I currently work in insurance claims (ugh).  I've done similar admin and customer service roles for many years.  I didn't have any big "career" plans because quite honestly, I planned to be a stay at home mum.  After multiple losses, it appears that my dreams of being a mother are not likely to come to fruition. 

(Please, no suggestions about adoption, surrogacy, etc - we may come to that decision, but we are not there yet).

The last few years have changed my outlook on life, and I can't see myself slaving away in a boring admin job for all eternity.  I need something that makes me want to go to work.  Something that gives me purpose, especially if we are not destined to have a family.  I know a lot of people don't love their jobs, but I do believe that family is often the trade off that makes less-than-ideal jobs worthwhile.  I'm not 100% sure on what path I would like to take, but I have a general idea of degree field (business/HR)

The catch is that we are not in an awesome position financially.  The past few years have been hard on us in terms of lots of medical costs, and also a bunch time out of the workforce because of health issues.  We also made some dumb financial decisions years ago, but that is neither here nor there.  We have been working hard to get back on track, and by the end of this month, we will have everything paid up except our CC.