How much would you spend on a movie gift card for a teenager or couple? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 12-30-2012, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

If the movie ticket costs anywhere from $18 (basic) - $28 (luxury) each, what gift card value do you think is appropriate for a 17yo teen?

How about if the gift card was being gifted to a couple in their 40's?

All the recipients are close family members.

I'm organizing my 2013 christmas list in the hopes that I can begin contributing to the fund from now (so no rude shocks next December). I've decided to give movie gift cards for christmas.. I've never done gift cards as a present before (ever), so 'scuse my ignorance about the topic..

TIA!

Me:  run.gif  DH:  hammer.gif 

Our babies:  reading.gif  blahblah.gif energy.gif moon.gif and a  stork-suprise.gif  coming in July

#2 of 12 Old 12-30-2012, 06:22 AM

for a teenager i would have enough for 2 (basic) movies so they can treat a friend if they like or go to a 3d movie and get a snack too. 

Unassisted birthing, atheist, poly, bi WOHM to 4 wonderful, smart homeschooling kids Wes (14) Seth (7) Pandora Moonlilly (2) and Nevermore Stargazer (11/2012)  Married to awesome SAH DH.

#3 of 12 Old 12-30-2012, 04:01 PM

Honestly, at those prices I would probably choose a different gift! Back when I used to go to movie theaters they only cost $1.50. Or maybe $5 at the fancy places. Yikes.

But if you can afford it, and that's the only theater around...

For the 17yo I would do 2 basic tickets plus a bit extra for snacks -- so probably $50?

For the 40yo couple -- either $50 like above, or spring for the luxury tickets, so maybe $75.

Wow do people really spend that much to see a movie once??? dizzy.gif