How am I unqualified?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 05-23-2013, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been looking for part-time work to help supplement our household income and its been pretty discouraging. I've applied for several positions (bank teller, spa receptionist) and I've gotten automated emails back each time saying that I'm not qualified. Um... I have a Bachelors degree and 5 years managerial experience (before I got preggo), how exactly am I unqualified for this kind of work?? Does unqualified mean over-qualified?

Does anyone have any tips for navigating online job applications? It just seems like they don't ever reach a real person.

I know that hitting the streets and asking businesses is a good way to find work, but I live in a floundering small town; the local papers only list industrial and agricultural jobs on a regular basis. I'd like to make at least $10/hour. I don't think that's too much to ask since I made $15/hour TEN years ago!!!

Darla dishes.gif Jimguitar.gif Wrenflower.gif Papahat.gif Grandma dog2.gifNana Anne jumpers.gif & the Great Cosmic Mimi om.gif
3 houses - 2 blocks in the old neighborhood = 1 eclectic/traditional tribe!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 05-23-2013, 07:54 PM

Quoted: 10 Post(s)