What's cheaper to buy online? Any tips? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-30-2005, 11:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I do lots of online shopping. First, I did it because we lived in the sticks and I couldn't find bargains on the stuff I wanted. Now I do it out of habit and to save time.

I'm not very good at garage saling or thrift shops : , but I do like to bargain shop for used items at ebay because I can use the search feature and find things quickly. Before buying anything, I usually go to http://www.froogle.com and see what the going rate is. I also use http://www.fetchbook.info to find the cheapest price on books if I'm buying a gift or it's something I absolutely can't get from the library.

I think frugality is as much about not buying as it is buying in bargains, but when you do have to buy something, where do you look online? Any tips?

Does anyone buy food online (bulk type items or staples)? Most places I've looked are shipping-prohibitive.

Also just wanted to say I love the new forums and am looking forward to learning from you all!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-31-2005, 10:49 AM

You're right, these new forums are great!
I don't know how much help this is but I used to buy a lot of things used on ebay and found that after shipping I wasn't really saving that much money. Now I pretty much shop online for things I can find locally (like cloth diapers, decent nursing bras) and everything else I try to find at thrift stores or odd lot stores (Big Lots type places). I've never purchased any food online because of the hefty shipping costs involved.

Jenny, proud maker of red things
Old 01-31-2005, 01:17 PM

The biggest savings we find online are car parts on ebay. Well, we buy other things on ebay too after making sure that cost including shipping is cheaper than anywhere local. Like PUR replacement water filters, for example.