Getting out of debt -GOOD- feb thread - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 94 Old 01-31-2005, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Come one, come all....anyone working on paying off debt come here for non-judgemental support. We won't tell anyone how many late payments you have, but we will all have a cyber party when you report that debt is paid off.

Myself, I'm a grad student (so that's my job, I'm paid to do research in the lab here). DH is a community college instructor, we are hoping for 2 PHDs this summer. DH and I have a ton of cc debt. We have 2 car loans and student loans (in deferment). We have one daughter. Oh yeah, and we have a mortgage. But we are focusing on paying off the unsecured credit and cars and not worrying about the mortgage.

I turned over the tea bag box this morning and came across something like 10 rules for life. One of them was "live beneath your means." After doing my taxes last week (refund, ) I realized that we are NOT living beneath our means, we made a heck of a lot of money last year.

Kristin -- mom of Erin (11/5/02) and Leah (9/29/05)
#2 of 94 Old 01-31-2005, 11:16 AM

Hey Kristin- thanks for the new thread, so cool that there is a really great place for us here now. When I get some time, I'd like to go back to all of our old threads and invite everone here, meant to do that last month, but haven't gotten around to it yet. More later- sicky baby .

:Patty :fireman Catholic, intactalactivist, co-sleeping, GDing, HSing, no-vax Mama to .........................:..........hale:
#3 of 94 Old 01-31-2005, 11:49 AM

Hey!

Update--We got all of our tax stuff and we file today!! HELLO TAX RETURN!!

Fingers crossed its as good as we hope

If it is we will pay off a car and a loan and half a credit card That'll free up 125 a month

Single Mom to 2 amazing little men. T(7) and B(5)
#4 of 94 Old 01-31-2005, 12:17 PM