Frugal Nursery Decorating Ideas?? Any1?? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 02-03-2005, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I want to change my DS old cream & blue snoopy nursery to a girl's theme but on a very tight (almost nothing) budget. I want to do a magical garden theme. Butterflies, humming birds and maybe fairies.

My idea was to go to a craft store and get faux daisy and various flowers (ideas of flower please??) remove the stems and adhere them to the wall. Then paint a stem on the wall from the baseboard to the flower and paint grass around the base of the room. That completes the bottom half of the wall.

But I don't know what to do for butterflies (I am far from an artist). Also the bedding can be really expensive (how do I save there), and I do not sew. A mom gave my the idea to use the crib bumper or the crib skirt as a valance for the window (since the skirt is not used my type of crib). I am clueless about the rest of the room(insert ideas here please). I am no where near a decorator (I'm awful at it) but I can vision and apply what I am instructed to do. Does that make sense??

Please ladies...there's gotta be away to achieve my dream nursery for little of nothing. IDEAS IDEAS IDEAS???

Or is it hopeless and I should just paint the room lavendar and let that be the end of it?

SAHM to DS(11), DD(9), DD(7), DD(5), angel.gif loss(28wks 12/31/10), and DD (2); wife to DH since 1998
#2 of 14 Old 02-03-2005, 10:42 PM

My dd's room has a butterfly/fairy border that I got at Home Depot. You could look for something like that or copy pictures from books, etc. and cut out the fairies and butterflies and use wallpaper paste to put them where you want. Stencils might work well too, especially for butterflies.

Miriam
Mom to two daughters born in 1997 and 2000
#3 of 14 Old 02-03-2005, 11:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'M