Venting about power company! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 09-29-2005, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Phew I'll first take a deep breath, because this really gets my blood pumping. We just bought this (our first house) 2 months ago. Our second night here we had a big storm & had large branches in our yard. We discovered the tree that is right over the house is DEAD. So we start talking to tree removal companys. The first one who looked told us there was a guide wire attached to our tree. Until it gets moved no one wants to touch our tree. Okay so I've been calling (CL&P the power company) for 2 months so that they will promptly move the wire so I can get the unsafe tree removed. In the mean time they had several trees trimmed/removed along my street because the branches were touching or almost touching the wires in the street. So I was told it would be done the first week of Sept., then it was the second week. Well when friday of the week rolled around I called back to find out that the guy I had been working with was working in a different town now. So I left a message with the new guy in charge. He got right back to me & was very nice & appoligetic. He told me it would be a rush since I've been getting the run around. A few days later I hear the truck pull into the driveway. I go out to talk to the guy. Just to find out that they never called "call before you dig", so nothing could be done. 2 days later "call before you dig" came & marked the ground. On Monday of this week CL&P came back they started digging covered up the hole & left. I call my guy back to find out what happened, he claimed that he couldn't get a straight anwser. But it would be done the next day. I hear nothing until Yesterday am at 6:30 a gigantic truck (different company) is in front of my house with a gigantic drill thing attached to the truck. This guy drills a hole obviously through stone as the whitish dust that covers e