Frugality vs. Organics, how do you find a balance? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 01-31-2003, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I sat down the other night to try and get a handle on our budget (we were having to dip into our savings too much lately). I was horrified to find out how much we had spent on groceries this month. I try to buy everything organic or natural but as everybody knows, they cost significantly more than the regular brands.

What I want to know is: how does everyone balance being frugal with buying organics or natural products? where do you compromise i.e. always organic milk and produce but regular cereals, etc.
#2 of 18 Old 01-31-2003, 07:01 PM

I struggle with this. i am new to this organic business, eating more vegatarian meals, etc. I am increasingly frustrated, because when i go into Wild Oats, i can blow a serious wad in there, that i didnot do when i shopped at walmart!

what i do is shop at walmart and wildoats and hope for the best. i dont know how some of the moms here at mdc do it on such a limited budget!. and i plan, and i make lists and menus!

sometimes i buy my veggies at walmart where they are a fraction of the cost. they have a few organic brands in the aisles and i hone in on those.
#3 of 18 Old 01-31-2003, 07:37 PM

I keep track of the sales at my HFS, then I stock up.
For instance, last week they had Cascadian Farms jams/jellys for half price. I bought 12!
There is a food co-op in my area that I am investigating. A friend of mine says they have great prices on produce.

Momma to three fine children, one that lives in my heart and two that live in my arms.
Circumcision is wrong, regardless of gender
#4 of 18 Old 01-31-2003, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter