Clothesline tips? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 44 Old 05-29-2006, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We have finally installed a good long clothesline in a nice sunny spot. I was just wondering if anyone has any tips for me, as I've never used one before, really (well, I dry diaper covers over a fence in our carport but that's it). Is there any way to avoid the "crunchy" feeling? Are there some fabrics I should not line-dry? Should I be worried about damaging the clothes if I leave them on the line too long? (We live in FL, so the sun here is QUITE intense.) What do you do when it pours rain on your line? Any space-saving tips for hanging lots of stuff?

grateful mother to DD, 1/04, and DS, 2/08

#2 of 44 Old 05-29-2006, 06:36 PM

Using less detergent and adding fabric softener can help with the crunchies, as can a quick 5 minute trip in the dryer at the end.

Some delicate stretchy things shouldn't be line dried because they will stretch and get a funny shape from the pins. They should just lie flat.

If it pours rain, bring the clothes in (preferably before it starts to pour.)

In the sun the clothes will dry in a couple hours, maybe less depending on the fabric. Check every 1/2 hour or so until you know how long it takes, then bring them in. I think sitting too long in the sun will cause fading. And leaving out overnight sometimes causes them to get wet again if it's a dewy morning.

Don't put the clothes too close together and make sure they are flat, not bunched. You can clip the ends of 2 things together with one pin (so that 2 towels are held up by 3 pins instead of 4) to conserve pins.

Pin shirts from the bottom and let them hang, not the shoulders or you get funky pin marks.
#3 of 44 Old 05-30-2006, 12:28 AM

To make them soft I add vinegar to the rinse cycle as fabric softner (no they don't smell like vinegar)

I give them a good shake (more like a snap) before I pin them up.